Technology Collaboration Programme

Advancing the research, development and commercialisation of energy technologies

The IEA Technology Collaboration Programme supports the work of 38 independent, international groups of experts that enable governments and industries from around the world to lead programmes and projects on a wide range of energy technologies and related issues.

More about collaboration on

Enhanced Oil Recovery (EOR)

Created in 1979, the EOR TCP evaluates and disseminates the results of research and development of enhanced oil recovery (EOR). Its primary focus is on improving the economics of EOR, increasing the recovery of oil originally in place, and extending reservoir economic life. The activities of the EOR TCP mainly cover information exchange on independent research activities carried out by the participating countries, the results of which are disseminated through annual Executive Committee meetings, two-day workshops and one-day symposia.

Main areas of work

The work programme is largely one of basic research, laboratory investigations and field testing or implementation in areas of mutual interest, divided into the following tasks:

  • Fluids and interfaces
  • Surfactants and polymers
  • Development of gas flooding techniques
  • Thermal recovery
  • Dynamic reservoir characterisation
  • Emerging technologies

Key activities and accomplishments (2017-18)

Priorities and projects (2019-20)

  • 40th Annual Workshop and Symposium, Colombia on Innovative EOR Technologies

Multilateral collaborations

Interested in collaboration with Argentina, Ecuador and Malaysia, all of whom have substantial activities in EOR


Why should your organisation become a member of EOR?

The EOR TCP plays an important role in fostering international collaboration. Each member country obtains access to a large pool of knowledge and experience in all aspects of EOR, from fundamental research to field implementation.  Results of research and field trials are shared and knowledge gaps can be identified. There is also strong participation from universities, research institutes and industry.


Chair: Torsten Clemens, Austria (

Primary contact: Torsten Clemens, Austria (

IEA: Raimund Malischek (