Technology Collaboration Programme

Advancing the research, development and commercialisation of energy technologies

The IEA Technology Collaboration Programme supports the work of 38 independent, international groups of experts that enable governments and industries from around the world to lead programmes and projects on a wide range of energy technologies and related issues.

More about collaboration on

Advanced Materials for Transportation (AMT)

Created in 1979, the AMT TCP focuses on materials critical to fuel efficiency improvement for current and future transportation technologies. The AMT TCP conducts co-operative research activities on friction reduction, waste heat recovery, and lightweighting of vehicles. The TCP work programme includes the development of standard test methods, testing, demonstration and design guidelines.

Main areas of work

Key activities and accomplishments (2017-18)

  • Achieved 2.4% fuel economy gains via ultra-low viscosity lubricant
  • Completed thermoelectric module efficiency round robin testing to establish a new measurement standard
  • Established new project on automotive glazing
  • Feasibility of model-based materials development

Priorities and projects (2019-20)

  • Complete engine testing of surface friction materials technology
  • Further thermoelectric module efficiency round robin testing

Multilateral collaborations

The AMT TCP is a task-shared agreement. Joint activities are initiated and carried out in areas of common interest to the members, and to the related material research expert network of 34 research institutes and universities under the AMT TCP. The AMT TCP stands ready to explore opportunities of collaboration with other TCPs.


Why should your organisation become a member of AMT?

The fuel economy of internal combustion engine technologies can significantly contribute to near- and medium-term carbon emission reduction goals. The AMT TCP provides a forum for experts to exchange information on improving fuel economy at regional and local level as well as to address global innovation priorities for material technologies.


Chair: Jerry Gibbs, United States (

Primary contact: Stephen Hsu (

IEA: Till Bunsen (