Global Engagement

Learn about the IEA's work with other organisations & countries around the world

Learn more about

IEA Members

The IEA has 30 member countries. Before becoming a member country of the IEA, a candidate country must demonstrate a commitment to collective energy security – including the ability to participate in an IEA coordinated emergency response measure – and other requirements on collection of energy data. An IEA Member country must be a member country of the OECD, but not all OECD members are members of the IEA.

Read more


The IEA has 8 Association countries. The IEA Association mechanism allows for regular dialogue between IEA Members and Association countries through the participation of Association countries in various IEA Standing Groups and Committees as well as IEA Ministerial meetings. Association builds upon extensive bilateral work programmes between the IEA and individual Association countries in recent years.

Read more

International cooperation

The IEA co-operates with a broad range of international organisations and forums working in the field of energy.

This includes the energy-related work of international groups such as the Group of 20 (G20), Group of Seven (G7), the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM), Mission Innovation and the Biofuture Platform as well as energy organisations such as the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and the International Energy Forum (IEF). The IEA also regularly advises in expert discussions at the Conference of Parties (COP) of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The IEA also engages closely with a range of organisations on data and statistics, in addition to close work with regional organisations such as the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and the African Union (AU).

Read more